2015: The Year of Cake

We had three birthday parties in two months. For two girls. And there was cake. Oh yes, there was cake.

Because we were in the Boston area close to Poppy’s First Birthday, we had a party there for all our Boston family (there are a lot of them), but then we also another First Birthday party for Poppy back in Chicago when my family was visiting from Cleveland. Then a month later, we had a smaller party for Millie’s Third Birthday when all three of her grandparents visited for that day.

So, like I said, a lot of cake.

sisterlyhug08222015

“I will hug her, and pet her, and squeeze her…”

poppycryingchokehold08222015

“WTF Poppy? You don’t want my love??”

But cake makes a party and we needed to throw a party! We closed out one year of being a Family of Four. I know there are many people out there that have more kids and have done this before so it’s not really monumental, but you know, it is to us. Last summer, I couldn’t imagine what having a second child would be like, and I was so nervous about it… how it would affect Millie, how it would change our family dynamic, how our routine would be upended again… I had a lot of anxiety about it.

But now I know, it just works out. Millie adjusts. I adjust. The family adjusts. And then you have this wonderful smiley, happy, chubby ball of baby that just makes everything even better. Watching the two of them–Millie and Poppy–figure out how to exist together (and maybe even become friends) is pretty enjoyable too. So yeah. It was reason to celebrate (three times).

Again. Cake. These cakes are from Chubby Love Bake Shop. I’m obsessed with her cakes and cookies.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

